HomepageExcursions and ActivitiesAccommodationsDestinationsAbout UsReviewsSpecialBlogTermsServicesContactCOVID-19

Monti and Valli d'Ossola

the peace of the mountains a stone’s throw from the lakes

Val d'Ossola is a wide alpine valley, located in the north of Piedmont and on the border with Switzerland, consisting of seven valleys: Vigezzo, Anzasca, Formazza, Bognanco, Divedro, Antigorio and Antrona. At the center is enclosed the plain of Ossola with its characteristic historic centers.

The physical and administrative core of Ossola Centrale, its "civil capital", is Domodossola, a transit land for the Sempione Pass and the Alpine passes of Formazza. Thanks to its vocation as a frontier city, over the years Domodossola has been able to confirm itself as a modern town while preserving its characteristics as a medieval village. On the Mattarella hill overlooking the town is the Sacro Monte Calvario, included by UNESCO since 2003 among the World Heritage Sites.